About Kerry
History of the Awards
Trustees & Selection Panel
Previous Winners
Application Forms
Contact Us

The group of University friends who established the Scholarships in 1984 included Kerry Capstick- Dale (former Rag Chair), Dr Charles Webb (former Residence Committee), Janine van Stolk (Rag Exec) and Nassos Martalas (former SRC Vice President). They were joined by Chris Downie who as a bank manager at the student branch of Standard Bank had formed a close friendship with students involved in student government.

They were later joined by past winner Claire Rockliffe-Fiddler and Gareth Ackerman (former Rag Chair and SRC Exec). On Kerry's death Tamra Capstick-Dale joined the group of Trustees.

The Trustees administer all aspects of the Scholarships which include fund-raising and the relationship with UCT.

It has always been a policy of the Trustees that the Selection Panel should be independent of the Trustees and act autonomously in selecting the winners.

The Trustees are:

Nassos Martalas (Chairman)
Gareth Ackerman
Tamra Capstick-Dale
Chris Downie


The Panel for 2018 was:

Timothy Harris (Chairman and previous winner)
Dr Vincent Maphai (Chairman)
Tony Weaver (former SRC President)
Lindie Gayiza (UCT representative)
Mike Morris (representing private donors)
Stephanie Venter (representing previous winners)
Warren Conrad (friend of Kerry Capstick-Dale)
Mandy Ackerman
Wendy Hartshorne (friend of Kerry Capstick-Dale)
Professor Peter Collins (former politics lecturer at UCT)

Past Chairmen have included:

Alderman Frank van der Velde
Alderman Clive Keegan
Sir Richard Luyt
John Arenhold (former Rhodes Scholar and selector)
Gareth Ackerman
Nassos Martalas
Professor Peter Collins
Dr Vincent Maphai
Timothy Harris (Previous winner)